
The Maryland State Tuition/FeeThe Maryland State Tuition/Fee 
Waiver Overview



On July 1, 2007 HB 1309, Higher 
Education – Foster CareEducation Foster Care 
Recipients – Waiver of Tuition 
and Fees was passed in to law.  



What this means to you as 
f /ki hi h i hfoster/kinship care youth is that 
all foster/kinship care youth inall foster/kinship care youth in 
out-of-home placements are now 
eligible to attend all Maryland 
public colleges and universitiespublic colleges and universities.



You are eligible if you:g y

Foster/kinship care youth who resided 
in an out-of-home placement at the 

•;

p
successful completion of high 
school/GED;;
Former foster/kinship care youth who 
was in an out-of-home placement at thewas in an out of home placement at the 
time they successfully completed high 
school/GED;school/GED;



Eligibilit contin edEligibility continued

Adopted foster/kinship care youth who 
resided in an out-of-home placement in p
the state on their 14th birthday and was 
adopted from an out-of-home placement p p
after the individual’s 14th birthday;
Foster/kinship care youth who isFoster/kinship care youth who is 
accepted at a public 2 or 4 year 
Maryland College/University;Maryland College/University;



Eligibilit contin edEligibility continued

Must have completed the Free 
Application for Federal Student Aid pp
(FAFSA) package on or before 
March1st of the year you plan to attend y y p
school;
You complete your studies within fiveYou complete your studies within five 
(5) years of when you start;



Eligibilit contin edEligibility continued

Must be enrolled as a degree-seeking 
student at Maryland public institution on y p
or before age 21.



Ho to ApplHow to Apply

Youth needs to go the financial aid 
office at the institution they are y
attending and inform them they are a 
foster care youth.y



A ard Amo ntAward Amount

Tuition and mandatory fees are waived.
All forms of financialAll forms of financial 
aid/awards/scholarships are applied 
firstfirst. 
If the tuition/fees are greater than the 
financial aid/awards/scholarships thefinancial aid/awards/scholarships, the 
state waiver, then waves the difference. 



A ard Amo nt contin edAward Amount continued

If the financial aid/awards/scholarships 
are greater than the tuition/fees, the g ,
balance is placed in the students 
account or refunded to the student.
There is no exchange of money.



Rene ing the State Wai erRenewing the State Waiver

You can renew your eligibility for the 
State Waiver each year for an additional y
4 years or until a bachelor’s degree is 
awarded.
You must complete a new FAFSA 
application by March 1st maintainapplication by March 1 , maintain 
satisfactory academic progress, attend 
and remain enrolledand remain enrolled.



S mmer SchoolSummer School

In order to attend summer school and 
use the state waiver, you need to , y
complete the fall and spring semesters 
and then you become eligible to attend y g
summer school.


